PDA

View Full Version : Rockwell Delta RAS question

Greg Pennock
08-11-2015, 2:47 AM
HI, I am new to the Sawmill creek community and have a question that I hope somebody can help me with. I recently purchased a RockWell Delta turret RAS model 33-267 to utilize along with a 10" craftsman that I have. The saw is in good condition with the exception of the plunger assembly being rusted in place so that I can not turn the turret. I have been soaking the assembly in PB Blaster trying to get it loosen up.
If the assemblt does not loosen up, is there any way that it can be disassembled? I do not have the owners manual for this saw, so in a sense I am flying blind. The main reason I purchased this saw is to utilize the turret in cutting angles for toy barn roofs.
Any information would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Greg

Todd Burch
08-11-2015, 6:40 AM
Hi Greg. Welcome. I have a similar Rockwell RAS. Yes, the plunger will unscrew and disassemble. I took mine apart. It wasn't as stuck as yours, but it certainly didn't have an action that was easy to pull up to release the plunger. I think there are only 3 parts to it - the interior plunger, a spring, and the housing. Well, and the knob. Take a picture and post it if you get (no pun intended) stuck. Clean it all up, put some grease on it and it should work fine for the next 20 years.

Todd

Larry Edgerton
08-11-2015, 6:51 AM
Also, for cleaning up parts I use a product by the name of Ospho. Its a rapid oxidizer that eats rust.

I had a Delta Turret Saw, was a nice saw. served me well. When you get it tweaked you may wonder what the Sears is for.;)

Bill Adamsen
08-11-2015, 9:09 AM
Greg: There is a manual and parts breakdown on that "specific" model at Vintage Machinery, and if you search deep you will find several "operator's guides" not labelled with the model, but very relevant. I too have one of the Delta turret saws (12") and it still works flawlessly.

Greg Pennock
08-11-2015, 11:00 PM