PDA

View Full Version : HVLP Sprayer

Bernie Weishapl
08-21-2005, 9:17 AM
Was wondering what nozzle size one needed to spray mainly lacquer with a HVLP? I see them listed at .8 mm to 2.2 mm. I have seen claims that some of the sprayers will spray lacquer, enamel, stain, primer, urethanes and clearcoats. I know from reading posts here that paints are not good sprayed with these guns and that urethanes not be sprayed either. Can you spray shellac with them? I am really new to spraying as I have just used the spray cans in the past. This get to be pain and costly. I have been doing some research on spray finishing. Any info on books or articles on the net would be appreciated.

Bernie

John Renzetti
08-21-2005, 9:55 AM
Bernie, Best to check with the manufactuer of the unit. Recommended nozzle sizes for type of product to be sprayed can vary with the model of the gun from the same manufacturer.
take care,
John

Kirk (KC) Constable
08-21-2005, 10:46 AM
I've sprayed lacquer with both a 1.3 and a 1.5 in an Asturo gun...didn't see much difference. I've also sprayed lacquer with whatever comes with the two Harbor Freight guns with the remote pot (I have both). I suspect they're much bigger than 1.5, but with a bit of practice and careful setup, they do just fine.

KC

JayStPeter
08-21-2005, 11:52 AM
Not an expert, but just got an HVLP setup. It varies depending on the type of gun (i.e. gravity, pressure, etc) and most likely by brand a little also. I also think it is different for touch up size guns. Here's (http://www.homesteadfinishing.com/pdf/generic_viscosity.pdf) a generic chart to show starting points.

Jay

Phil Phelps
08-21-2005, 2:03 PM