PDA

View Full Version : Calculating Text Area for Gold Leaf application

John Bion
08-04-2015, 8:15 AM
HI all,
Is there a method of calculating text area in V Carve Pro or another program to help me generate a quote for applying gold leaf in the V Carved text?
Any other ideas? I’ve never done gold leaf before, this is a whole new learning curve on an outdoor oak sign with 5” lettering.
Thanks in advance for any advice.
Kind regards,
John

John Bion
08-05-2015, 9:54 AM
HI all,
In case anyone else ever has a similar need: I copy (below) this help from Charlie at Vectric:

If you use the Measure tool in the Drawing menu and set it to Span / Contour Properties you can click on each letter and it will give the Area² of that letter.
It only works with one letter at a time though, and for any letters with an internal shape (such as a,e and o) you need to minus the internal Area from the surrounding area.

Kind regards, John

PS: I find Vectric a great company, on the rare occasion I have had reason to contact them, they have been personal, friendly and resolved the issue, unlike some other software suppliers.

Scott Shepherd
08-05-2015, 11:32 AM
John, I saw this when you posted it and meant to come back and reply. If you've never done gold leafing before, you're in for a treat :) Let's just say that there's no need at all to calculate exact sizes. You'll probably need far more than you think you will :)

Handling gold leaf is an art.

John Bion
08-05-2015, 1:48 PM
HI Steve,
Thanks for your reply; now I’m left wondering what I’m in for.....is it a “treat” or another of those tough learning curves? :) This is one of those “milestone” projects if it comes off for me, but as usual on something you have never done before, quoting is a pig.
Any advice would be gratefully received.
Kind regards,
John

Scott Shepherd
08-05-2015, 2:09 PM