PDA

View Full Version : Dealing with smoke when cutting white hardboard

Dave Wetterstroem
07-22-2015, 1:57 PM
First off I must admit that I am a total noob to laser cutting and engraving. My laser has only been set up for a week and I am still trying to get the hang of things.

My issue today is dealing with smoke on the surface when I am cutting. I am using a couple of different products and getting the same issue with both. The first is 1/8 White Durowood from Laserbits and the other is 1/8 Eucalyptus White Hardboard from Home Depot. I like the appearance of the later better and the fact that it is a FSC certified product gives me another thing to add to the description from a marketing standpoint.

I have tried a number of combination of speed and power and any that cut all the way through left a fair amount of smoke around the edges. This cleaned off, but adds another 5 minutes to the production time that I would rather avoid. I did notice when cutting a plain uncoated hardboard that I had nearly zero smoke issues. This would lead me to think that it is the white surface that is causing this. The manufacture told me that the surface is just white acrylic paint.

Any suggestions?

Also, they claim that the product is paintable, but when I have tried with latex paint is rubs right off. If anyone has worked with this material, do you have any suggestions for finishing it?

Thanks

Bert Kemp
07-22-2015, 2:29 PM
Most any material you cut is going to leave some residue on the edges. One thing that might help is to use masking on the board But I think this will add more time to cleaning as you have to put the masking on then you have to weed it off, I think you just have to clean the board when done. A clear coat on the surface will make cleaning easier.

First off I must admit that I am a total noob to laser cutting and engraving. My laser has only been set up for a week and I am still trying to get the hang of things.