PDA

View Full Version : Dummie needs help

Sande Morse
08-18-2005, 5:09 PM
Hi,

I am putting a finish on a self contained pantry cabinet. Not understanding the correct properties of different finishing materials, I did the outside in Tung Oil and the inside in Miniwax polyacrylic. I was misinformed by a gentlemen that Tung Oil would darken the finish. It did not and I'm unhappy with the color, which is a very light natural shade. Is it possible to successfully apply a stain or a polyacrylic with stain in it, to the tung oil finish? Are there any suggestions if neither is feasible?

Thanks.

Don Baer
08-18-2005, 5:27 PM
Hi Sande and welcome to the creek.
I am no expert on finishing but I'll try to help.
As far as I know tung oil that you buy is very rarely pure tung oil, most of it cntains a varnish. I'd get some varnise remover and use it first. Then you can apply a stain or dye. Before you apply anything to the wood to change the color try a test piece where it won't be noticed so you can see what the finish will look like when your done.
am sure someone will be along soon to give you better advice.

Jim Becker
08-18-2005, 5:31 PM
Did you use pure/real "Tung Oil" or "Tung Oil Finish"? If the container says the latter...it has no Tung Oil in it and is just a wiping varnish. You can't stain over it, per se, but you can color a clear finish, such as shellac or varnish, to use as a toner to darken the piece. Be aware that it can be very difficult to get an even color after the fact, although spraying your finish can help. If you used "Real Tung Oil", it can also be over coated with something to change the color, but you need to make sure it is FULLY cured (can take many weeks) before you top coat it with anything. If you don't you can get really nasty streaking and/or white spots.

Howard Acheson
08-18-2005, 5:39 PM
As asked, did you use one of the faux "Tung Oil Finishes" or was it a true, pure, 100% tung oil?

The second question is what is the wood you used?