PDA

View Full Version : First (and hopefully last) Cabinet Table Saw Purchase - Advice needed use

John Akerblom
07-14-2015, 2:17 AM
Big decision to make. Need a table saw for my two car garage workshop (no more $150 contractor saw from 1982). I want to go new, not used, cuz I am no expert at maintenance or alignment. I work with a lot of exotic, dense hardwoods, and need accuracy and power (and good dust collection)

Ive read about 1000 pages of threads and have narrowed my choices down to two.

1. Grizzly 5hp, 12" blade, oversized table (model G0696X)
or
2. Sawstop 3hp, 10" blade, pro model.

I know these are kind of apples and oranges, but I learn a lot from these threads regardless (and also get a real kick out of it when ppl start getting angry).

My question is, besides the safety feature on Sawstop, what advantages does it have. The Grizzly is more powerful, bigger and thicker table, way heavier, 12" blade, and has got great reviews so far. I know Sawstop has gotten rave reviews for the precision and quality machining, but am wondering if it would be worth it to save around $800 (once I'm done buying a mobile base, dust guard, etc) and get a bigger, more powerful tool. I use a lot of thick, dense lumber and could make use of the 12" blade.

If I do decide to go with the grizzly, what would be the best above blade dust collection system? Could an after market fence bring the accuracy up to sawstop's calibur? Has anyone used the Grizzly sliding table with this saw?

Any and all advice, experience, and insight is greatly appreciated. Yes, I value my fingers, but the safety feature is not my only concern.

Thanks in advance,
John

Kelby Van Patten
07-14-2015, 3:00 AM
I have neither. However, SawStop's dust collection is probably the best of any tablesaw made today.

Rick Potter
07-14-2015, 3:14 AM
Have you checked SS heavier 5 HP 10" saw?

Kent Adams
07-14-2015, 3:46 AM