PDA

View Full Version : LED Under Cabinet Lights from Feit Electric

Roger Lueck
07-07-2015, 5:35 PM
Does anyone have any experience with the LED under cabinet lights made by Feit Electric?

Feit makes the lights in 24", 18" and 12" lengths

The 24" light is 32 watts, 1850 lumens, color temp. 4100 K

Each light is supplied with a round "puck type push button" master switch.

Several of the lights can be connected together, up to a maximum of 100 watts

In addition to the master switch, each light also has a "touch sensitive switch" on one end of the body of the light

They are supplied with 120v lug/cord, however the lights themselves appear to be low voltage light, possibly 12v????

If the light is low voltage does anyone know where the transformer is located, within the round master switch or in the body of the light?

Thank You for any information you may have about these LED lights
Roger Lueck

Steve Peterson
07-08-2015, 2:53 PM
I have no experience with the Feit LED lights, but 1850 lumens sounds like an enormous amount of light. Most 60W incandescent bulbs put out between 600-800 lumens. Each 24" LED is equivalent to 2.3-3 60W bulbs. Are they dimmable so you can dial them back if needed?

Steve

Matt Meiser
07-08-2015, 3:25 PM
No experience with them either but I've done LED lighting in 2 kitchens. One I bought LED light fixtures. The second I bought LED tape. Hands down I'd recommend the tape for ease of installation and cost. Both kitchens were built with switched outlets above the cabinets. For the full fixtures Romex had to be fished down. For the tape, power supplies sit on top of the cabinets and low voltage wire is fished down either in the front corner of the cabinet hidden behind the face frame or in the small gaps between the cabinets. And frankly I think the tape gives off more even light.

I bought the tape kits at Menards but there are a million sources, many probably significantly cheaper.

Wade Lippman
07-08-2015, 8:02 PM