PDA

View Full Version : Router Lift choices?

Jon Endres
07-05-2015, 3:16 PM
I'm looking for a router lift to be used in a standalone router table. My primary router is a Bosch 1617EVS so it has to fit that. I like to read reviews on things before I purchase, and I haven't seen anything in any of the magazines or on line lately that was recent (like within the past year or two). Can any one point me to a recent review article or give me their opinions on some of the better router lifts out there? I have no experience with them, my current system consists of a factory Bosch router base, attached to an old Rockler phenolic plate, mounted in my table saw wing. Everything I do with it has some level of annoyance - bit changes, height adjustments, etc. I'd like something simple, middle-of-the-road in price, not too high-tech, easily adjustable, and precise.

glenn bradley
07-05-2015, 3:42 PM
The smaller routers are generally easy to fit. When searching for a lift that had a hole that would allow my Milwaukee 5625 to raise high enough for bit changes I went with the original Woodpecker PRL. This lift and the original Bench Dog have gone the way of the Dodo but, there are decent new versions currently available. With the lighter router you can also look at things like the more open frame Rockler offerings. If you see yourself going to a more powerful motor in the future, I would buy a lift for that now and get the adapters.

Important things for me:
- above the table bit changes
- self-locking (or very easily locking) carriage
- plenty of leveling points
- easily changeable (and a wide variety of) throat inserts (or the ability to make your own)
- heavy duty, smooth, reliable height crank
- a built-in height scale of some sort is a nice touch
- built-in fence scales are also a nice touch

Things not so important in actual experience of use:
- digital height readout (I have DRO's on several other tools and love them. On the RT, not so big a deal.)