PDA

View Full Version : 6" Craftsman jointer - thinking of buying

Chris Barrett
07-02-2015, 1:07 PM
Hey all,
I'm new to woodworking but I'm gearing up to do a lot of custom work in our victorian house. Cabinets, vanities, built ins and furniture (This is a very long term project). I'm looking at finding a jointer that will help keep the cost of lumber down, I already have a 16" planer. The jointer in question is a Craftsman 2hp 6 1/8" jointer which I believe is model 351.227240.
It's belt driven, and appears to have both in and out feed table adjustment. 45" bed length.

Does anyone have opinions on this jointer? I know that a lot of the craftsman jointers were kind of crappy, and I've passed up opportunities to buy other ones. However, this one appears to be the best that craftsman made. He's asking about $200 for it.

Thanks so much!
Chris

John Donhowe
07-02-2015, 10:02 PM
I don't have any experience with that specific jointer, but it looks comparable to a lot of "a step up" jointers- Grizzly, Delta, Ridgid, etc. They have, as you noted, a decently long bed length with adjustment of both infeed and outfeed tables. Also, they have center mounted fences, which I think is crucial. My first jointer was one of those crappy C'man ones, with the fence mounted at the end of the outfeed table and cantilevered over the bed. I really hated the fence in particular- hard to keep in adjustment and not nearly as robust as the Ridgid I bought on CL as a replacement.