PDA

View Full Version : any advice on tenons?

Bob Bachynsky
06-18-2015, 8:46 AM
Hi all,
Just thought I'd see if anyone has any tips on making tenons easier. I'm pretty new at this but it seems like no two of mine are alike lol. Sometimes I nail it and my project stays on and steady other times i feel like I'm picking my piece off the floor a half dozen times. Are there any tricks, maybe a jig or something, to help a newbie make good tenons?

John Keeton
06-18-2015, 8:55 AM
It may be helpful to know which brand of chuck you are using?

Bob Bachynsky
06-18-2015, 9:11 AM
I have a Barracuda 2 (PSI). Same style as a nova for the most part although it doesn't have the dovetail angle.

http://www.pennstateind.com/store/CSC3000C.html?gclid=CjwKEAjw2ImsBRCnjq70n_amv14SJA ChXijNLSepRFJSX306NSjUO-3pOq0DjsoMoEVAtjgZN7zCkxoCy0Lw_wcB

Peter Blair
06-18-2015, 10:47 AM
Bob. Check out this thread
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5KHkkws9lWA
Reed Gray does excellent videos.
Wish he was doing them when I started turning.
Would have saved me a bunch of time on the old 'learning curve'!

Peter Fabricius
06-18-2015, 11:41 AM
Bob, there is a UTube video by Mike Peace and he goes through all (?) the possible methods of "work holding" I think that is the title of the video.
Normally for your Profile style jaws the tenon should be about 3/8" long and a "slight" taper / dovetail will not hurt, it might improve the hold. Just be sure the work piece is seated against the face of the jaws and DO NOT bottom out inside the back of the jaws. Tighten the jaws occasionally to make sure they are not working loose, especially in softer woods.
If you are loosing your work across the shop floor it is possible that you are taking too deep cuts or you are getting catches??? Review your tool presentation with a mentor and always stay out of the line of fire.
Peter F.

Thom Sturgill
06-18-2015, 1:04 PM