PDA

View Full Version : Planer, Jointer, or both?

Ben Gunter
06-15-2015, 2:54 PM
Hi all,

1st time posting and many questions, but I'll try to be brief. I'm a relatively new woodworker, but looking to get a solid home shop set up. I have decent variety of tools, but I'm lacking the "big" power tools. (I have a table saw and router table). What I feel I need most is a planer, jointer, maybe both, or a combo jointer/planer. I have a rough budget for these tools ($500-1500 for both), but the range of options is overwhelming. I'm in a woodworking program at Red Rocks CC (in Denver) and I'll build mostly typical furniture. I'm not opposed to spending on the higher side of my budget in the interest of an "investment" tool.

So, here's my question: What would y'all recommend for a relative beginner? I'm thinking at least a planer first.

Also, any thoughts on the "deal" that this link is? It's a 16" Makita Planer 2040 for $800.

https://denver.craigslist.org/tls/5017112585.html

I really appreciate any thoughts and advice!

Thanks,
Ben

Rick Fisher
06-15-2015, 2:57 PM
That is a really decent planer. If I where looking at buying that machine, I would inspect the rubber rollers, ensure they are in decent shape. ( read the ad, see that he says they are in good shape, I would still inspect. but that is a nice machine )

I sold those 25 years ago to retail customers. Its a great example of how little power a planer uses when the knives are sharp. Its 120V and plugs in the wall, takes lighter passes than a more modern planer, but a really well built and capable machine.

That machine will hold its resale value if cared for, I remember them being $1600 new .. The 12" combo was about $2000 I would probably offer $600 .. see what happens.

Anthony Whitesell
06-15-2015, 3:05 PM
Definitely planer before jointer. You can make jigs to use a planer for face jointing and the tablesaw or router for edge jointing. But it doesn't work the other way around.