PDA

View Full Version : Grbl Arduino Chinese small laser

StuartW Wilson
06-14-2015, 8:26 AM
Hi there from Australia. I am new to laser engraving so i purchased a small Chinese 2000mw laser MO on M3 Off. To learn the process I have found a couple of programs that work, Laserengraver which makes the .nc files and GCode Sender. The issue that I am having is the Laserengraver is very basic and I cant make a file that will fill the image, it only lasers the outside of the image, I have looked all over the internet for a solution and have come up empty. I have a small cutting board business, I would like to engrave images onto the boards, when I am proficient I will purchase more expensive equipment all help is greatly appreciated. regards Stuart

Roy Sanders
06-14-2015, 9:21 AM
Hello Stuart,

I am new too. I plunged in and bought an older version of Corel Draw. then export it to the laser through Laser Draw.

Mike Null
06-14-2015, 10:17 AM
Stuart

Welcome to SMC. I haven't worked with any Chinese built machines so, other than CorelDraw, I don't know what will work but it won't cost anything to download a program called Inkscape to see if that might work for you.

Bill George
06-14-2015, 12:41 PM
Hi there from Australia. I am new to laser engraving so i purchased a small Chinese 2000mw laser MO on M3 Off. To learn the process I have found a couple of programs that work, Laserengraver which makes the .nc files and GCode Sender. The issue that I am having is the Laserengraver is very basic and I cant make a file that will fill the image, it only lasers the outside of the image, I have looked all over the internet for a solution and have come up empty. I have a small cutting board business, I would like to engrave images onto the boards, when I am proficient I will purchase more expensive equipment all help is greatly appreciated. regards Stuart