PDA

View Full Version : shed door, torsion box style

cody michael
06-11-2015, 5:14 PM
I am building a shed and I need to build the doors, I am planning to make a 2x4 frame and screw/glue 1/2 plywood to it, I have enough 2x4's to go around the outer edge then have 4-5 crossbeams going horizontally. I have never built a torsion box before...

my questions are the plywood I have is 4x4, is that okay to have a seam in the middle of the door? I was planning about 1/2inch half lap joint gluing them together and then gluing/screwing them to 2x4. if it would be beneficial I could stagger the seam, have the outer seam in the middle, inner plywood centered over seam and seam about top and bottom. about 2 ft in would this be good or cause more harm and work?

the door will be about 4ft wide 6-7ft tall. should I use the full 2x4 or rip them to 2x2 or something else? I will also be making a 2ft wide door, copying the bigger doors construction.

should I have more pieces of wood going vertical? or will the 2 outer pieces be okay?

I also read you can use styrofoam inside the plywood, I have some 1 inch maybe a little over blue styrofoam, ct I use that inside the 2x4 frame? I could plane the 2x4's down to thickness of foam. I think I should have at least 1 2x4 in the center to screw the plywood seam to... would the foam be better then wood for the rest?

I have a box of house door hinges will 3-4 house door hinges work to hang these?

the picture is my rough idea for 2x4 frame, with the 2x4's evenly spaced... will this work, is there a better way?

the shed project went way over budget so I am trying to use stuff I have on hand, but if I need to buy something I can.315576

Kent A Bathurst
06-11-2015, 5:30 PM
Cody - from my little bit of relevant experience, a couple points I can offer:

1. lap joint on 4x4 ply is fine as you have described. Just be sure it is waterproof when you are done.