PDA

View Full Version : Hot water heater

Harry Goodwin
08-13-2005, 9:40 PM
Well, you will agree this is off the topic.
I have a hot water heater in the attic.
It's old and we are planning replacing it elsewhere.
Are the hot water heaters that do not have a tank any good.
Will it provide enough water for shower and dish washer.
Will it destroy my water bill any worse than the tank type.
I will need to build an outside bldg if I go the old tank type.
Thank you all for your help Harry

John Hart
08-13-2005, 9:47 PM
Harry, here's a site... http://www.rinnai.us/index.asp This system mounts out of the way, uses no tank and will supply hot water for the whole house. Supposedly, it is cheaper than running a tank....although, I have no personal experience with it.

Michael Perata
08-13-2005, 11:31 PM
I have a hot water heater in the attic.

Harry - if you already have hot water in your attic, why do you need to heat it.

(Sorry, couldn't resist :rolleyes: )

Randy Meijer
08-14-2005, 4:41 AM
I have no first hand experience; but have done a bit of reading and everything I see about tankless water heaters is fairly positive. You will be looking at a bigger investment up front; but lower monthly utility bills because you won't be maintaining a tankful of hot water for 24 hours a day. Payback time depends upon a lot of variables including local gas or electricity rates. I bet you could get some good figures from your local gas or electricity company!!

Note: I did read about one guy who couldn't install a gas unit because the location he needed to use could not be properly vented. These things provide essentially an unlimited amount of hot water....you can't run them out of hot water.

Frank Hagan
08-14-2005, 11:33 AM