PDA

View Full Version : Grizzly 0766 - Is this a problem ?

John Cargill
06-05-2015, 10:32 PM
Picked up my new Grizzly 0766 late this afternoon. Woot Woot !! It's been a long wait.

Just as a couple of others have posted, the legs were not secured when I opened the crate, and had moved around quite a bit. I have cosmetic damage to one leg (the one against the bed), the faceplate, tailstock and ways. As far as I can see, those are very minor issues that can be resolved with some touch up paint or sandpaper. Not a major concern.

My potential problem is that the motor is hanging onto the headstock by a thread . . . almost literally. See the angle it's sitting at in the pics, and the space between the motor and headstock housing. One of the screws is completely detached from the motor ! I'm not a very mechanical guy, unfortunately, so I dont really know if this is a probem or not. It appears I will have to do some disassembly just to get to the screwheads of those holding the motor in place. That's assuming that they aren't stripped out. I still cant figure out how the screws could back out like that. I'm most concerned that the shaft from the motor could be bent. Is that a valid concern ? Is there anything internal that I should be concerned about ? As of yet, its sitting in the crate just as I found it.

I haven't gotten the shop wired for this monster yet, so I'm not going to uncrate anything more quite yet (although I'm dying to start turning on the thing). At least not until I get some advice from you guys.

Thanks in advance for your input. And hopeful this really isn't a big issue.

John

Jon Shank
06-05-2015, 10:54 PM