PDA

View Full Version : Hand tool shops in Tokyo?

Brad Swanson
05-30-2015, 10:07 PM
I have a last minute trip to Tokyo scheduled in the near future, and I have the morning free before my return flight. Can anyone in the know recommend woodworking tool establishment in Tokyo that would be worth the effort to visit? Thanks.

Brad

Evan Ryan
05-31-2015, 2:15 AM
Tokyu hands, i was in Tokyo last year and this store had some nice hand tools. I think it was the store in Shibuya.
it reminded me of a Tokyo Big box but there were hand planes, chisels and sharpening stones that looked nice.
I know "nice" is vague, but i am not an expert on Japanese woodworking tools, I mean they weren't cheap like the sharpening stones or hand planes at a U.S. big box.
If you like spending time in a hardware or general store you can kill an hour or two at Tokyu hands.

Malcolm Schweizer
05-31-2015, 3:52 AM
I'm jealous! With the yen at .0081 to the USD, we wanted to fly to Japan, but from where I live it's thousands of dollars per person and waaaaaay too long of a flight with a 2-year-old. The cost of tickets offsets the savings by far.

Please post an an update with pics when you return.

David Wong
05-31-2015, 5:24 AM
There is a stone shop I have tried to visit, but unfortunately it was closed due to a holiday the day I tried. My wife did go there one trip, and the owner said he gets a few foreign visitors. She did not get the impression that he spoke english though.

http://www.morihei.co.jp/?mode=f4

Here is a tool shop in Shibuya that I recently heard of. I have not had the opportunity to visit here either.

http://www.h6.dion.ne.jp/~y3-rikou/profile/profile-top.htm

If your trip is not for 2 or 3 weeks, you could also try ordering ahead of time from http://www.toolsfromjapan.com/store/ and have the items shipped to your local address. Could save on the EMS shipping charges.

Brad Swanson
05-31-2015, 3:19 PM