PDA

View Full Version : End table project completed

Scott DelPorte
05-24-2015, 4:39 PM
Hi, this is my first project posting here. I started out wanting to build a reproduction of a shaker table that I saw in a book, but ended up making a few changes. For instance, I put a taper on the underside of the top all around the edge because I liked how it looked, and used violin tuning pegs for drawer pulls.

The book I used had measurements of overall dimensions and a photo, but didn't have much in the way of a building plan to help someone understand the underlying construction. I built this primarily out of the finest Home Depot pine (the type my brother makes bird houses from) figuring that I would learn a lot on this first one, and then build a pair of "real" ones out of cherry. I think the cherry ones will go a lot quicker and come out nicer after building this one.

Jim Becker
05-24-2015, 5:07 PM
Beautiful work!

Kent A Bathurst
05-24-2015, 6:57 PM
One heckuva nice piece........especially for a prototype.

The "real ones" will be as good, I'm sure - seems "better" would be hard to achieve.

Let us see them, if you will.

Also - the drawers - what did you do to support them - kickers & runners? Any photos of that detail? Worked out great - the reveal looks pretty good............

Jim Matthews
05-24-2015, 7:23 PM
It's a fine take on a timeless form.

I particularly like the way it looks in a regular room.

Too many look great in a show, but overpower a living space.

The knobs are particularly sharp.

kudos

Gene Davis
05-24-2015, 8:06 PM
I like it! You must have watched some Norm Abrams' shows, because he always built a prototype. Good idea. I don't do it, then kick myself after.

Just finishing up a piece with a bottom-beveled top, like yours. I have done a few of such tops, and have settled on a thickness of 1", finished, for such tops, and a 3/8" vertical face. Need to get good 5/4 for such a top, but I think it is worth it.