PDA

View Full Version : "Sand-o-Flex" ca 1976

David Ragan
05-17-2015, 4:09 PM
Well, I am on staycation all week, burned out on TV, too tired to use tools-lest I cripple myself, and am going through my FWW archive.

Check this out:

Anyone ever used one of these? Looks like it might put a bit of dust in the air......

I graduated from HS in 76---guess we didn't appreciate dangers of inhaled stuff back then?

Tom M King
05-17-2015, 4:14 PM
I have one probably bought about that time, maybe even from that ad, and do still use it. It not only works quite well, but really fast. I use it outside on a windy day, and still wear a respirator. Refills are still available. Works best on a corded 2500 rpm drill. I graduated from HS in 68.

Mel Fulks
05-17-2015, 4:29 PM
I've got one I bought about 1990 for a specific use,don't use it now. I think they still make them. Think they make the refills in split "finger " style and unsplit flap style. The flap type are easily home made from the edges of used wide belts.

Stew Hagerty
05-17-2015, 4:52 PM
I have never used a flap style sander, the exception being ones for my dremel. Instead I use Sanding Mops from the makers of the Sand Flee. Instead of flaps they are layer after layer of paper placed on a spindle, with each layer offset from the one below it by about 45*. before using them for the first time it is recommended that you install it in a drill driver or drill press run it up onto high speed then run a dowel or a stick deep into it. That will break apart the clipped fingers on both ends of each layer (as you can see in the pictures). they are great for finish sanding oddly shaped objects or molded edges. It is also great for sanding the inside of bowls, or trays. With multiple sizes and grits it is the perfect power sanding attachments for a wide range of projects.

http://www.rjrstudios.com/store/c1/Featured_Products.html

Tom M King
05-17-2015, 5:43 PM