PDA

View Full Version : Question: Freud blade upgrade on SawStop

Casey Reames
05-16-2015, 11:26 PM
Warning: This post turned out longer than initially intended. I apologize in advance. If you get bored three lines in, just skip to the last paragraph. That's where the actual question is located. If I didn't give enough info or asked too many questions, again, I apologize.

Hey everyone, this is my first time posting on here. I've been browsing the site for years and have always found answers to my questions, so I've never really needed to post anything. However, I have a question regarding an "upgrade" I made today, and can't find any info on my inquiry.

First off, I just upgraded from using a Shopsmith as a table saw to a 3hp 52" SawStop PCS. Seriously....a dream come true. I've always seen pictures of these awesome cabinet saws (all major brands included), seen them in stores, heard fairy tales their abilities, and always thought, "sure wish I could have one of those someday." Well, that someday was two weekends ago. I finally just held my breath, closed my eyes, and swiped my wife's debit card. Haha. Just kidding.....kinda.

So, I was completely impressed with the way it ran, the way it cut, how smooth everything was. I thought the blade included with the saw had to be the best blade on the market. It worked great! Then I started reading. I found out that most people consider those blades to be "junk blades", and even heard a guy say they were specifically designed to knick hotdogs and drive into aluminum brakes.( Haha. Funny guy!) I read that a top notch blade can make a significant difference, amd how impressed you will be at the saws improvement.