PDA

View Full Version : Explosion Proof Motors?

chase standifer
05-16-2015, 1:35 PM
I have the Graco Pro-Shot II sprayer. In the instructions it says not to spray flammable finished since the motor is not explosion proof. How big of a danger is this really? I spray single smaller pieces, at the most something book cased sized and that very rarely. I also have a well ventilated garage that I would be working in. I would like to be able to spray shellac etc.

Bill White
05-19-2015, 11:28 AM
I'm no expert by any means, but "explosions" are mostly caused by concentrations of flammables and oxygen. If you have adequate air movement and exchange, open doors, etc., I wouldn't think that you would have a problem unless the atmosphere in the shop/garage gets saturated with the mixture.
Having said that, I don't know why water won't explode. After all, it is a mix of hydrogen and oxygen. Shows ya how much I really know.
Bill

Curt Harms
05-20-2015, 7:58 AM
I'm no expert by any means, but "explosions" are mostly caused by concentrations of flammables and oxygen. If you have adequate air movement and exchange, open doors, etc., I wouldn't think that you would have a problem unless the atmosphere in the shop/garage gets saturated with the mixture.
Having said that, I don't know why water won't explode. After all, it is a mix of hydrogen and oxygen. Shows ya how much I really know.
Bill

Not a chemist but I think the hydrogen and oxygen DID explode. The product of the reaction was/is water. There must be certain concentrations of explosive compounds in the air in order to support rapid combustion. I'm under the impression that those concentrations are pretty high; decent ventilation should keep the concentration of explosive vapors well below the flash point. The risk I think about is heavy vapors settling in areas where there is no ventilation so becoming concentrated but there may be an ignition source.

Mike Dowell
05-21-2015, 7:20 PM