PDA

View Full Version : Confused as to which lathe to buy!

Tony Cognato
05-12-2015, 7:47 PM
I haven't touched a lathe since my early twenties but I am 61 now and have the "bug" really bad. I've always loved buildings things from wood and want to use a lathe mostly for table legs, bowls, and anything creative as gifts. It seems the more I look the more confused I get. I was about to settle on the Nova 1624-44 for $999.00 on sale, but then I read all you guys talking about the speed control and I look at the DVR XP for $1799.00. I am looking at Rikon, Jet, Delta, Grizzly, and Nova. Any experts out there with some advice? I'm an electrician by trade and am also a bit OCD about everything I do. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Oh, by the way, I really do not want to pass the $1500.00 bar unless it is the absolute best thing. Tony

Thomas Canfield
05-12-2015, 10:20 PM
You will get a lot of advice, but the best is to get with a turning club and try to check out different lathes, tool requirements, etc to try to put a list of needs and options together. With $1500 top, you should try to find a used lathe if you want some mass. I was going to sand and turn the bottom off a irregular shaped bowl/section today and found my little Nova Comet II could swing the wood, but it shook so bad (fastened securely to a heavy base) that I could not work on it and had to put it on my Powermatic. Lathe mass really helps with larger irregular shapes, where the little Nova Comet II can turn almost 12" diameter well balanced material fairly well. Remember to allow $$$ for all the little things like gouges, sharpening system, safety equipment (eye, dust, etc) that you will also need.

John K Jordan
05-12-2015, 10:42 PM