PDA

View Full Version : Jig Opinion

Warren Wilson
05-09-2015, 1:11 AM
I have made box joints with my shop-built jig for years now, and want to clean up the tear-out as well as up my game a bit in terms of fit. The boxes always go together and the joints fit OK, but fine tuning is difficult and I want clean and beautiful, a tad above functional.

So I looked at the Incra iBox jig, read reviews and was just about to order one when a thought occured to me: why not do two upgrades at once and buy a Leigh Superjig that will do some box joints, but also open the world of machine-cut dovetails.

Sure, the Leigh costs twice as much, but it appears to do twice as much. Can any of you experienced guys offer me any wisdom on this?

Mike Cutler
05-09-2015, 6:02 AM
Warren

I am by no means an expert, but the Leigh is a fantastic "system". Expensive, but versatile. It's pretty slick. Another tool of this type that intrigues me more than the Leigh, read as I want one, is a WoodRat.

Michelle Rich
05-09-2015, 6:16 AM
I have used an incra for over 20 yrs..on tablesaw & router..very versatile& will do many joints. the Leigh is hefty & well made.

Alan Schaffter
05-09-2015, 11:10 PM
I have a dog in this fight, so am a bit prejudiced. You need to look at what your joinery needs will be and decide if you will use both box joints and dovetails. If you want both by all means get the Leigh, but if you think you will be making box joints more regularly (for jewelry and other small boxes), get the I-BOX.

A few things to consider.

If you want to make more than just 3/8" and 3/4" finger joints with the Leigh you will need to purchase the relatively expensive ($200+) f3 accessory template and guidebushing kit. You will also need a straight router bits- Except for the RTJ400 all leigh jigs only work with a hand-held router.