PDA

View Full Version : to Combo or not, in a 2 car garage

mark mcfarlane
05-07-2015, 10:38 AM
First post (in a few years), newbie here. Been reading a few hours a day for a few months.

Background: I had a serviceable shop 15 years ago, built some furniture, boxes, etc, mostly plywood, then moved overseas (again) and sold the stationary stuff. Plan to retire next year and rebuild my woodshop to make builtins (sheet/solid) and furniture (solid). Hoping to spend a lot of time in the shop :).

Picked up a few Festool pieces last year (track saw, MFT, vac, and two sanders) to make some solid wood shelfs for my son during my vacation. Fun project, except the S4S oak I bought at the local borg wasn't very flat, and making dados for curved wood with an ATB track saw and chisel took a tad longer than expected...

My new shop has a 2 1/4 car garage that is going to need to house at least one car periodically, water softener, other garage crap (we're on a lake). Mobility will be helpful. Montgomery, Texas. Hot Humid, gotta rip out the walls, wire, insulate, AC,... It has lovely built in cabinets along 2 walls that need to come down,...

I'm envisioning a dust collector, band saw, jointer/planer, table saw, router table/shaper, and assembly bench as the floor space hogs.

Been studying the Hammer combo machine (saw, shaper, jointer, planer) recently. Probably with the smallest slider, maybe one size up. Seems reasonable for a one man 2-car shop: fewer places for power, fewer places for dust collection, no rush production work,... Another thought is to try to avoid a table saw altogether, and live with a bandsaw and MFT/track saw. The MFT/Track saw actually worked great making my sons book cases and I've seen many awesome ideas for MFT setups here and at the Festool forum that could supplant a table saw in terms of performance, but probably not speed and convenience.