PDA

View Full Version : Help with cross brace on coffee table

Keri Gollance
05-04-2015, 8:58 PM
Hello -

First off I'm a rookie! I'm building a walnut live edge coffee table. I've built 'X' style legs (lap joined). I want to build a cross brace from the center of each 'X' leg to the top of the underside of the table to prevent any lateral movement. If I make the cross braces so they meet in the middle of the table vs. braces with 2, 45 degree angles - the brace length difference would be 7 inches each - is that going to make a big structural impact. The total span between legs is 34". I have on hand 2 walnut pieces to make the shorter braces, but would need to go buy more to make the longer pieces. Is it worth it? I hope the question makes sense.

Thanks
Keri

Brian Tymchak
05-05-2015, 7:44 AM
Hi Keri, I would think with the table doing light duty as a coffee table, that not having the braces meet will be just fine. In fact, I'm not really sure having them meet would add any stability to the piece, since the ends of the braces should be firmly secured to the bottom of the table top. If you like, and you have the material, you could add a cleat on the bottom of the table that runs between the 2 ends of the braces, if you feel that it will help. Or, another option if you feel strongly about having that brace braced against something, maybe you could cut a recess (mortise) in the bottom of the table top where the brace will land such that the brace is backed up by the table top itself. Maybe a mortise only 1/4" deep might necessary. That would depend on the thickness of your top. Actually, I think that would be overkill but I tend to over-engineer all my projects.. :rolleyes:

Make sure you post pictures when you are done!

Pat Barry
05-05-2015, 7:47 AM