PDA

View Full Version : Which cabinet saw should I keep? Pics

Steve Mathews
05-03-2015, 3:08 PM
I'm new to woodworking and recently purchased a Delta cabinet saw. Shortly afterwards I came across another cabinet saw made by Jet that I couldn't resist buying. My dilemma is which one should I keep? The Delta is a Platinum Edition with a Biesemeyer fence. The Jet is a Model #JTAS-10-1 with an Xacta fence. Both have a 3hp, single phase motor, extension table and are right tilt. Other than color and badging they look about the same. The fit and finish of the Jet seems a little better by my novice eyes. The Jet fence and extension table came in the original boxes and were never used. Here are pics of the two saws.

Mark Wooden
05-03-2015, 3:16 PM
Keep the USA made Delta; although the company itself has gone down the tubes recently, the Unisaw is the better machine.

Jesse Busenitz
05-03-2015, 3:22 PM
Yeah keep the uni

ed vitanovec
05-03-2015, 3:26 PM
The Delta Unisaw

Scott Hearn
05-03-2015, 3:53 PM
Easy. USA iron over Chinese? Keep the delta. It likely has a far better built motor if nothing else. Swap fences if you want.

Carroll Courtney
05-03-2015, 3:58 PM
If your looking for an easy sale then that would be the Uni,lots of people wants them.Jet,well that may take longer to sell.But,if I had both and wanted the best for myself then like others that would be the Uni,heck the fence by its self cost ya around 400.But I'm sure there's a Jet fan someplace,good luck with your decision.Both looks good,I can see why you jump on them----Carroll

David Kumm
05-03-2015, 4:11 PM
Likely the Uni although I'm not sure they were all USA at that point but resale is better. Check condition and measure runout and check the tables and motor. Condition trumps model for that comparison. Dave

Mark Carlson
05-03-2015, 5:42 PM
Keep both, use jet as the outfeed table and for dado blades:) I'm only half kidding.

scott vroom
05-03-2015, 5:49 PM
Sell 'em both and get a Grizzly :p