PDA

View Full Version : Clamps

Arturo Lumpkin
04-30-2015, 5:01 PM
I am relatively new to woodworking. I have built things, especially wooden things, most of my life. I am however just getting into the finer areas of woodworking and want to get further into fine furniture making.

I am looking to add some nicer clamps, espcially some deep throat Bessey F-style clamps and some Jet parrallel clamps. I have been told by some veteran woodworkers that I know to watch for the big sales that come around once to twice a year on Jet and Bessey clamps at Rockler, Amazon, etc. He said that I can get notice of such sales on the woodworking forums. Where do I find those notices? Is there a particular time of the year that the sales normally occur? I am no rush as I already have some clamps, I am just looking to buy in bulk when a sale hits.

Thanks!

Kyle Iwamoto
04-30-2015, 5:40 PM
Do you have a local Woodcraft? You can sign up on line for sale flyers. That's where I got my Jet parallel jaw clamps from. I don't think they've been on sale recently, so the sale may be coming up soon. I like my Jet clamps. I'm one of those idiots that manage to have the Besseys smash my finger when they slide down. I do have Besseys too.

Jim Andrew
04-30-2015, 9:13 PM
What is your location? Where you are makes a lot of difference on what companies you can deal with locally. I have been buying the heavy duty F clamps that Menards sells. Lately they have been getting them on sale at great prices. Can't buy more, my racks are full. Menards also gets the Jorgenson Cabinet Masters on sale. Right now, Grizzly has a sale catalog out, and it has some clamps on sale. I ordered 6 I beam clamps.

Chip Byrd
04-30-2015, 9:22 PM
Agree with Jim. Menards will put the Jorgy parallel clamps on sale 3 or 4 times a year. During that time, you can pick up 2 x 24" and 2 x 36" for about $100. Haven't used the Jet or Besseys, but I love the Jorgies.

Matt Krusen
04-30-2015, 9:56 PM