PDA

View Full Version : Mold on my lumber

Dan Hahr
04-29-2015, 8:57 PM
I just went out to my shed and was disappointed to see some patches of mold on the face of a wide oak board that I have been storing for over 8 years. I recently built a 16x12 wooden shed to house my stash of lumber. Previously, it was stacked the same way in my garage. I moved it out to the shed a couple of months ago. Over the last couple of weeks we have gotten a lot of rain. I haven't finished my shed doors yet, and there is a small crack around the perimeter of them. I have 8 soffit vents and a full ridge vent, which should be plenty of ventilation.

I originally thought that some water blew in and the damp conditions kept those spots from drying out. Then I went to get my good flashlight and realized that almost all of the top surfaces of the lumber had a thin greyish cast that wipes off with a finger swipe. The walls are not affected, and neither are the floors. When I moved the boards around, lines of exposed wood were defined by greyish mold.

Has anyone ever experienced this before? I am sure the humidity has been quite high and I know it will fluctuate over the course of the year. However, this has never happened in my garage and it is not heated or cooled, and it stays open most every day. I plan on putting a small heater in the shed until we get some warm weather, but I don't want to have to keep it conditioned all the time, and I don't have electricity run to it. I can leave the windows open, but I'm not sure if that would make it worse or not.

Any suggestions?

Thanks, Dan

Peter Quinn
04-29-2015, 9:06 PM