PDA

View Full Version : Easiest way to create Mortise and Tenons

Michael Furey
04-23-2015, 2:30 PM
So I'm new to making mortise and tenon joints and recently attempted my first one. I'm doing these for breadboard ends on table tops with 1 1/2" thick doug fir. I used my fixed base router with a 3/4" x 1/2" deep straight cut bit for the tenon and a 1/2" x 2 1/2" straight cut bit for the mortise by doing multiple passes. Like I said, it worked, but it wasn't pretty. I used a straight edge clamp to guide the router on the table top which was about 36" wide for the tenon and then made a basic DIY router table by just mounting it upside down on a piece of plywood and using my saw horses to do the mortise (raising the bit higher in small increments). My question is...are there any jigs/tools out there that you would recommend to make this process much easier that also won't cost a million dollars to purchase? I would like to keep the joint hidden, however I'm not opposed to it being visible on the side either.

scott vroom
04-23-2015, 2:53 PM
I started a similar thread recently....this may help: http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?228092-Alternatives-to-mortise-and-tenon-for-small-furniture-build&highlight=

I ended up buying a plunge base and a guide fence attachment for my old Porter Cable 690 router for the mortises; I used my table saw for the tenons.

Cary Falk
04-23-2015, 3:07 PM
Tenons on the table saw and the mortises using a bench top mortise.

Michael Furey
04-23-2015, 3:10 PM
Any other ideas for the tenons? I'm going to be doing it to 36" - 44" table tops that will already be glued up and it will be pretty difficult to do it on a table saw.

Charles Taylor
04-23-2015, 4:44 PM
Any other ideas for the tenons? I'm going to be doing it to 36" - 44" table tops that will already be glued up and it will be pretty difficult to do it on a table saw.