PDA

View Full Version : Rubber vs Urethane Band Saw Tires

Carroll Courtney
04-22-2015, 7:17 PM
Today I went shopping for good old American made rubber band saw tires but they seem to be alittle hard to find.Different places that I went to all had the urethane tires and went into the reason why they no longer sell the rubber ones.But I also read about problems that members having problems with the urethane tires.So as a refresher course,what's the better products on the market now days for some BS tires?Any links,or your thoughts on rubber vs urethane?Thanks Carroll

lowell holmes
04-22-2015, 7:27 PM
I've had no problems with Urethane tires. I replaced mine years ago with urethane and they are still in good condition. If your wheels have a crown made into the rim and you install the tire poperly, it should last. No adhesive is required.
I have no experience with rubber tires, so I cannot compare them.

Gary Radice
04-22-2015, 7:54 PM
For rubber tires, try Woodworkers Tool Works. You can find them online. I have had excellent service from them.

Gary

Today I went shopping for good old American made rubber band saw tires but they seem to be alittle hard to find.Different places that I went to all had the urethane tires and went into the reason why they no longer sell the rubber ones.But I also read about problems that members having problems with the urethane tires.So as a refresher course,what's the better products on the market now days for some BS tires?Any links,or your thoughts on rubber vs urethane?Thanks Carroll

Bruce Whitaker
04-22-2015, 8:14 PM
Woodworkers Tool Works. I have purchased for three band saws from them and there is no better service of more knowledgable people.

Michael W. Clark
04-22-2015, 10:52 PM