PDA

View Full Version : Sydney Referrals - Extraction & Ducting

Oni Laughton
04-14-2015, 11:55 PM
Hello

I've been reading this excellent forum for a month or so and this is my first time posting.

Background info:
We have a 1200x900 100watt SM Laser, currently we have a small & cheap extraction unit which came with the machine, it's a pretty noisy 550w with a CFM of 870 m3/hr. We are about to purchase a second machine so want to upgrade to one unit which is strong enough to extract from both machines and pump the air up the side of a two storey building.

From research (a lot of it on this forum) I've figured out that I need about a 1.5HP extraction unit and about 1500 m3/hr to handle two machines.

Code states that I need to exhaust above street level so I will be purchasing and installing ducting that goes to the nearest window, does a 90 degree bend and then goes up the outside of the two storey building that i'm in.

Quote's I'm getting are for about $2K for the extraction unit (3000 m3/hr! Stronger than I though I'd need), $2K for the ducting, and a further $4K - $5K for installation. I feel like it's a little high considering the scope of the job, so I'm asking for the following advice:

Questions / Advice Requested:
1) Does this quote sound about right?
2) Should I consider buying the extraction unit and ducting then finding a carpenter to help with the install? Can anyone think of a reason this is a terrible idea?
3) Does anyone have any referrals for the installation?
4) If anyone has any particular extraction units / placed for cheap ducting / companies in Sydney that are well priced I'd really appreciate your input.

I'm learning as I go and the forum's here have been helpful, thanks in advance.

Oni

Rich Harman
04-15-2015, 1:16 AM
Welcome to the forum Oni.