PDA

View Full Version : Water based dye on cherry

Bud hill
04-13-2015, 11:40 PM
I am having problems finishing a cherry desk and cabinets for my wife. Let me first state that I am a total novice when it comes to finishing. The top for the desk is bubinga. I used EM8000 for the finish on the top and that looks good. For the base I planed on finishing with a couple coats of garnet shellac and then GF Black Cherry water based stain followed by semi gloss endurovar. I made some small test pieces and everything worked great. This combination looks really good with the bubinga and my wife has blessed it. Now the problems start. I've found that the water based stain dries so fast its hard to get a uniform finish on larger pieces. I also need to use the same finish for a couple of cherry plywood panels that I need to use elsewhere in the room. I have had no success in using the stain on these panels. After reading some of the posts on here I'm now not sure I can make this work. I need to add some color to this cherry to make it look good with the top. The wife is never going to go along with letting it age naturally. Would it be better to use transtint in the shellac to try to match the Black cherry? If so does anybody have an idea what colors to start with? I'm running out of time to get the base cabinets in. Its ok if i take longer on the desk.

Steve Schoene
04-14-2015, 9:00 AM