PDA

View Full Version : Is it possible to get the internet on my computer at home without a subscription

dennis thompson
04-12-2015, 1:01 PM
Is it possible to get the internet on my computer in my home without subscribing through Verizon, ATT, etc?
thanks

Chuck Wintle
04-12-2015, 1:22 PM
Is it possible to get the internet on my computer in my home without subscribing through Verizon, ATT, etc?
thanks

if there was a wi-fi active near you and if it was not password protected then in theory you could surf the new for free.

Pat Barry
04-12-2015, 1:35 PM
You can still get low speed thru a dial up modem and a standard phone line as far as I know

Bill Huber
04-12-2015, 3:01 PM
If you have a smart phone with the internet you could get an adapter for the computer and use the smart phone as a hot spot.

Charlie Velasquez
04-12-2015, 5:13 PM
There are several that offer free internet, with limits, without a cell phone subscription. Freedompop comes to mind.
I have no experience with them, though.

Myk Rian
04-12-2015, 8:59 PM
if there was a wi-fi active near you and if it was not password protected then in theory you could surf the new for free.
Although it's illegal.

Myk Rian
04-12-2015, 9:02 PM
If you have a smart phone with the internet you could get an adapter for the computer and use the smart phone as a hot spot.
If the computer already has Wifi, you're all set. There are apps to make the phone a hot spot.
Make sure you have an unlimited plan on the cell phone.

Curt Harms
04-13-2015, 7:22 AM
AFAIK, Netzero/Juno are still in business. It's dial-up only and limited to I think 10 hours/month. These are the same company - United Online

http://store.netzero.net/account/showService.do?serviceId=nz-dialup

http://www.juno.com/free/

Years ago I used Juno for internet access. It's still an option for free email. There may be other similar, these are the only ones I know.

Fred Belknap
04-13-2015, 8:01 AM