PDA

View Full Version : Coating over Thermark

mike wallis
04-06-2015, 7:48 PM
Hello everyone,
I've been using Thermark for several years now to mark metal. Thermark is a good product however on certain metals such as brushed stainless steel, Thermark can be difficult to see at certain angles. While cleaning the coating with alcohol I noticed that the viewing angle was increased greatly while the Thermark coating was still wet. My question is has anyone ever coated Thermark or Cermark with a clear coat? If so will the coating effect the longevity of the mark? The biggest issue I can see is that the clear coat may oxidize over time.
On a side note if anyone has any ways of increasing the contrast/Viewing angle while using Thermark on Stainless I'd love to hear them.

Thanks for reading!
Mike

Kev Williams
04-06-2015, 8:51 PM
I laser etch brass cowbells and clearcoat those, and it makes the Cermark look like gloss black paint. However, the clearcoat is out of necessity due to the fact the etching isn't all that permanent on the brass--

But I would never clearcoat stainless other than by customer request. What I DO use is Weimans stainless steel cleaner/polish. Makes the stainless AND the etching look nice. However, it's only temporary as it eventually evaporates.

greg lindsey
04-07-2015, 12:43 AM
I have used cermark for years , it will fade when exposed to sunlight over time. Ferro recommends clear coating, they have a specific company that makes a coating, don't know it off the top of my head but if you contact Dennis he will give you the info. I have used thermark (water based) as well and find that cermark(alcohol based) works much better. Both will look lighter in florescent lighting, take it into the sunlight and it will appear darker. A quick fix to darken is apply pledge or similar wood polish, it will darken temporally. Brushed SS, always mark in the direction of the grain for best look.

Mike Null
04-07-2015, 7:26 AM