PDA

View Full Version : Bowls

Robert B Povalkins
04-03-2015, 5:19 PM
Hi all,

Need some help. I cut down some bowls around Jan and Feb of this year and had them laying in the shavings since, every once in a while stirring up the mix. My question is can I now take those bowls and stack them on the shelve to finish drying so I can get rid of some of the shaving that is covering my floor. This is my first attempt of turning bowls straight for the log. Thanks.

Bob

Paul Williams
04-03-2015, 5:31 PM
I suspect you are going to get a lot of opinions and many of them will work just fine. What I do is place the rough turned bowls in paper bags fold over the opening and put them on a shelf. I have a friend who doesn't use the bags, but puts his bowls in a cupboard to keep them out of any drafts. If your pile of shavings is pretty dry and the bowls have actually dried a bit, you might just stack them in a cool dry area that does not have any drafts. IMHO the cracking usually takes place in the first month. If you have no cracks and the bowl has been sitting in the shop for two months I would be tempted to just pull them out of the shavings and stack them in the shop. The only concern I have for just putting them away as is would be the moisture in your pile of shavings. If the pile is not drier than the bowls you have not gained anything by leaving the bowls in the pile for this long. You might try several methods and see what works for your climate. Good luck.

Thom Sturgill
04-03-2015, 6:03 PM
If you are processing wet timber for bowls, get set of scales capable of weighing your heaviest rough-outs. Record the date and initial weight and periodically check the weight. That is the best indication of when they stop losing water. You can just number the bowls and keep a separate log or if you bag them, write the dates and weights on the bag.