PDA

View Full Version : Quick feedback please

Daniel McPherson
04-01-2015, 10:13 PM
I am about to order from minimax. I am new to woodworking but want to get set up right in the beginning. I am trying to decide if I get a combo machine and have 12" J/P capability or spend $2,500 more and get a separate table saw and 16" J/P.

Advantage of the separate machines is they are separate and I can J/P 16". Disadvantage of separate machines is it costs $2,500 more and I lose the shaper function.

They reason I am looking at the separate machine option is more than anything to get 16" J/P capability. But I don't know if I would realistically need that capacity often enough to justify an extra $2,500 expense and the lose of the shaper. (realistically I don't see myself ever using the shaper so I could care less about that)

So, is it worth the extra cost to get the extra capacity on the J/P or is 12" enough for any realistic projects?

(I plan to build cabinets and furniture etc but don't really have any experience doing any of this stuff)

Thanks for helping out a total newbie

cody michael
04-01-2015, 10:18 PM
I had a 12 inch planer and wanted bigger, I felt it limited my projects. Have a 20 inch now and really like it

Mike Henderson
04-01-2015, 10:46 PM
12 inch jointer, no problem. 12 inch planer, a bit small. You'll wish you had a bigger one.

Mike

Mike Heidrick
04-01-2015, 11:35 PM
Why not a separate saw shaper from minimax or felder?

Mike Schuch
04-02-2015, 8:21 AM
I have a 8" jointer and 15" planer. I have no complaints and have never felt a need for bigger. I haven't ever used the full 15" width of my planer.

Cabinets are mostly plywood with solid wood for frames which could be handled on a 4" jointer. If you do solid wood panels in the doors you will need wider than 16" to flatten them after the glue up.