PDA

View Full Version : First table saw recommendation?

Mark Tsujihara
08-04-2005, 1:43 AM
Hello all,

I'm new to SMC, and I look forward to learning a lot from all of you.

I'm a newly-wed 30 year old engineer, and I am in the process of kicking the automobiles and junk out of a perfectly good two car garage to build a workshop. My wife has been nice enough to consent to a Festool ATF 55 saw, MFT 800 table, CT 33 dust collector, and OF1400 router so far. :)

As I save for my next purchase and plan my shop layout, I am considering what my table saw will be. I understand everyone has their favorites, and I have looked at Jet, Powermatic, Grizzly, Delta, etc. My wife is also highly interested in the Sawstop (she's a mite concerned for my digits). I hate buying more than one tool because I cheaped out on the first one. That's why I convinced my wife to let me buy the Festool stuff. Most of the guys at the woodworking group I belong to have a drawer full of routers, etc. That drives me nuts :) I prefer to save for the best I can get.

If you knew then what you know now, and if you had one saw to buy for the rest of your life/career that would meet your needs for furniture building and construction work, what would it be?

Thanks for your input.

Mark

Ian Barley
08-04-2005, 2:27 AM
Hello all,

I'm new to SMC, and I look forward to learning a lot from all of you.

I'm a newly-wed 30 year old engineer, and I am in the process of kicking the automobiles and junk out of a perfectly good two car garage to build a workshop. My wife has been nice enough to consent to a Festool ATF 55 saw, MFT 800 table, CT 33 dust collector, and OF1400 router so far. :)

As I save for my next purchase and plan my shop layout, I am considering what my table saw will be. ...
Mark

Mark

Let me be the first to welcome you to the creek. You will get lots of great information here - I know I do.