PDA

View Full Version : Cedar fencing

Lee Schierer
03-24-2015, 8:23 AM
My daughter wants to put in cedar panel fencing. I've never done this type of fencing before. She lives in southern New Jersey where the soil is pretty sandy. How should the posts be set in this type of soil? Most likely they will use treated posts.

What is the best way to attach the fence panels to the posts? I would think a countersunk deck type screw would just split the cedar. Do they make a round head screws that won't split the wood that can be power driven.

Stan Calow
03-24-2015, 6:31 PM
Lee I just replaced an eight foot section of cedar fence. I used stainless steel deck screws I had lying around - no pre-drilling and no splits. Most people around here use galvanized or aluminum nails, the twisty ones if they want to get fancy. There is a potential for staining if you use the wrong kind.

Kent A Bathurst
03-24-2015, 6:38 PM
What is the best way to attach the fence panels to the posts? I would think a countersunk deck type screw would just split the cedar. Do they make a round head screws that won't split the wood that can be power driven.

Pre-drill all holes. If not, then one day there will be splits. There will be splits.

And - use SS screws to avoid staining.

Peter Stahl
03-24-2015, 10:53 PM
Lee, I live in SJ and when they did my fence they only used cement at the posts for the gates. Yes they did use treated posts. They only toe nailed the rails into the posts. Fence is still standing after 15 years. What town in SJ is she in? Some areas are wetter than others. My yard stays pretty dry.

Bruce Page
03-24-2015, 11:14 PM
I have over 2 hundred feet of ceder fencing. You will not have a splitting problem if the screws are driven flush. I never pre-drill.

Rich Engelhardt
03-25-2015, 7:12 AM