PDA

View Full Version : Hello all......pre-newbie here...

Chris Gode
03-23-2015, 2:20 PM
Hi Ladies and Gents,
Just looking for some honest advice. I'm retiring in a little under 5 years from a profession that is totally unrelated to engraving. I've always dabbled in woodworking and after I had made a box for a relatives ashes I had the top laser engraved. That got me to thinking I might want to invest in a engraver for fun first, and hey.....maybe be able to supplement my pension as well. I wouldn't have to make a ton of money but a little extra would be nice. I'm no computer whiz by any means, I get the feeling my biggest learning curve would be the graphics program. I have been reading quite a bit in here and see a lot of folks use CorelDRAW. How easy is it to learn how to use such a program? It looks complicated! As far as laser equipment, I've been reading up on Epilog, specifically a Zing to play around with. I see they are a little on the pricey side but the support offered would in my mind, be money well spent. At least, from what I've read so far.
So...as a guy that has no experience, would be starting from complete scratch, retiring from his current job at age 55......would it be advisable to invest a chunk of money into a system.....or is this just a pipe dream? You realize of course, IF I jump into this.....I will become the new village idiot here! I have a good sense of humor and can take brutally honest criticism BTW!
Thanks for your time!

Gary Hair
03-23-2015, 5:46 PM
How easy is it to learn how to use such a program? It looks complicated!