PDA

View Full Version : Door Hinge Mortise Template

Steve Gojevic
03-23-2015, 12:41 PM
Does anyone have a recommendation for a router template for door hinges? This is for home use only. I am replacing a bunch of doors at home and a template would speed things up a lot.

An online search shows a Porter-Cable, Milescraft and a Ryobi.

Last year, I bought the Milescraft from Lowes. It is the kit that also does the door jambs and the striker plate. It worked OK, but after I used it I noticed several of the templates were broken in the kit (must have been dropped during shipping). I returned it to Lowes, but they didn't have any more so I took a refund.

I could just buy another kit just like it, but if there was a better one (within reason price) I would buy it.

Steve

John TenEyck
03-23-2015, 1:54 PM
You can make one in about 20 minutes from a piece of Masonite and short section of hardwood. I've been using the same one for at least 20 years. I use a 1/2" mortising bit in my router with a 5/8" collar, so the template is 1/16" larger all around than the hinge leaf.

John

John Huds0n
03-23-2015, 2:00 PM
I have this one from Woodhaven along with their router bit. They come in different sizes (You provide the piece of wood it screws to)
http://www.amazon.com/Woodhaven-8536-3-1-Hinge-Radius/dp/B001TQEJNS

Money well spent

John Schweikert
03-23-2015, 2:24 PM
Doing it freehand is far easier than it may seem. I did two doors recently. When cutting only 1/16-1/8" deep with a good mortising bit, there's very little issue to pencil the hinge space and freehand it.

Otherwise as said above, make a simple jig from scrap wood.

Tom M King
03-23-2015, 3:06 PM