PDA

View Full Version : Help identifying jointer blade?? (pics)

Jerry Olexa
03-19-2015, 10:20 AM
Just bought a used Delta 6" jointer for backup in basement shop. I'm not familiar with the blade installed..Along with it came a wrench (similar to Allen type) for. rotating, adjusting the individual blades..I have conventional ,straight blades in my bigger jointer.. Could this be a spiral, Helix, Byrd etc? I'll appreciate your feedback... Thanks

peter gagliardi
03-19-2015, 3:26 PM
That looks to be a modular style of insert carbide head. A series of discs stacked to the appropriate width of the machine on a central shaft, that accepts the standard four sided turnable carbide cutters like on a Byrd or similar head.

Earl McLain
03-19-2015, 3:29 PM
Jerry,
I'm no expert but that looks like an Accu-Head. I believe Steel City may have been a distributor of them at one time.
earl

Jim Andrew
03-19-2015, 8:21 PM
Certainly is no Byrd.

Jerry Olexa
03-20-2015, 11:48 AM
Now looking at numerous cuts on my fingers from trying to clean those blades..They are sharp and easily cut deep...Before buying, I ran a few scrap pieces through the jointer and produced good, easy, smooth cuts/results...I'm just curious what brand or type of blade this is??? Already you've given me a few clues... This will help clear the "mystery"...Thanks again for your help., The confused new owner

Mark Wooden
03-20-2015, 12:20 PM
Don't know who made it, but the carbide cutters look pretty standard and should be available from a variety of suppliers. Pretty cool head set up IMO

Morey St. Denis
03-20-2015, 5:44 PM