PDA

View Full Version : Testing pressure Relief Valve on Hot Water Tank

George Bokros
03-18-2015, 7:52 PM
On the new today there was a story about a family whose boiler exploded. Luckily no one was injured. The said that you should test the pressure relief valve not only on your boiler but also on your hot water tank. The installer that installed my replacement under warranty hot water tank opened the pressure relief valve to aid in filling the tank after he competed the install. He told me to make sure I drained the tank as a maintenance task twice a year but said to not open the pressure relief valve as he did because it may not seal again.

After the story on the news I am wondering anyone does test the pressure relief valve on their hot water tank? I have never done it before.

Thanks

Myk Rian
03-18-2015, 7:58 PM
but said to not open the pressure relief valve as he did because it may not seal again.

Every time I have tested the valve, I got leaks. I don't do it anymore.
What you can do besides draining the tank, is connect a garden hose to the bottom spigot, and drain a few gallons out of it. That's it. Nothing more.
Once a year is enough.

Jim A Walters
03-18-2015, 8:17 PM
+1 on the leaks. I tested mine and it leaked from then on so I had to replace it.

So if you have to replace it after testing, how does one know the new one will work if needs to? Can't test it for fear it will leak too. I'm going with just draining it some once a year to remove any sediment.

Jim

Todd Willhoit
03-18-2015, 9:41 PM
I have found some useful water heater information:
www.waterheaterrescue.com (http://www.waterheaterrescue.com)

He specifically speaks to the T&P valves here (http://www.waterheaterrescue.com/pages/WHRpages/English/Troubleshooting/quick-fixes-to-water-heater-problems.html).

I don't think draining water as Myk mentioned will help with the T&P valve, but a full flush is certainly worthwhile in a hard water area like mine.

Clint Baxter
03-18-2015, 9:45 PM