PDA

View Full Version : Need help with a problem with a Powermatic 66 table saw

Charles R Johnson
03-17-2015, 3:31 PM
I've got a 1987 vintage 66 that has served me very well. I'm still getting excellent cuts but get a strange vibration / blade wobble when the saw comes to a stop. When shutting down the saw and the blade at about 1/2 the full RPM it suddenly - thumps and wobbles the blade. If there is wood around the blade it gets scared. It seems this coincides with the capacitive start function of the motor dropping out. But I'm not a motor expert.

The belts are tight and the arbor bearings seem good.

Any ideas of where to head on this?

Mike Hollingsworth
03-17-2015, 4:01 PM
Mine did that too. Someone here will know. Looking forward to hearing the reason.

Ken Fitzgerald
03-17-2015, 4:17 PM
I suspect it's caused by natural resonant mechanical frequency of the blade/arbor combination.

It's been decades....but as I remember it.....nothing is absolutely perfectly balanced....as in saw blades.....arbor spindles etc. As such when you spin them the combination of the imperfections will have a frequency.....a narrow RPM range at which their natural "oscillations" will be aided by the spin frequency of the motor....both as they spin up in RPM and spin down. This causes a vibration. The vibration isn't as noticeable while spinning up because you pass through this narrow band of RPM quickly while trying to achieve the running RPM of the motor. But when power is removed, the motor is allowed to coast down and as such spends more time in the natural resonant RPM range as it tries to coast to a stop and thus the vibration is noticeable.

Again....it's been a long time but that's how I remember it.....I'm sure others will correct if I am wrong.

Rich Riddle
03-17-2015, 5:22 PM
I suspect it's caused by natural resonant mechanical frequency of the blade/arbor combination.