PDA

View Full Version : An Introduction

Kurt Wolko
03-16-2015, 10:22 PM
All,

I guess after almost 5 years of lurking here, it's time for an introduction.

My father gave me a great start in understanding woodworking. After I graduated college, he and I started to build a wood shop in the basement of his home, which he, my brother and I used for several years.

I now have all that equipment as both my brother and father are gone, and am slowly getting back into woodworking after a very long dry spell.

This site certainly has a great wealth of information.

Over the years, I have also acquired a lot of tools, and, combined with what I have from Dad's shop, I'm a bit overwhelmed.

Which lead me to the thought of building some cabinets and toolboxes for a lot of the tools. Right now everything's a mess and has been since all this stuff came out here, and I'm just now starting to get some spare time to do something about it.

Over the years I've picked up Tolpin's Toolbox book, and Lon Schleining's Workbench book. Lots of great ideas there. Dad also subscribed to Woodsmith and I have a bunch of the early copies of that publication as well. He made the workbench that was in Woodsmith #50. I still have to finish it up with the cabinets and am looking forward to doing that hopefully once things warm up a bit.

Tool storage is a priority for me right now as I have what Dad left me and what I've acquired over the years. Recently I purchased two sets of plans to help out. The first is Jan Zoltowski's tool cabinet from FWW. I like the layout of the cabinet and it looks like a great way to store a lot of tools in a small footprint.

The second is the machinist's tool chest from Aircraft Spruce. For the price, I had no idea what I would receive. The plans arrived today.