PDA

View Full Version : How long should I cut my lumber?

Silas Smith
03-07-2015, 7:10 PM
I picked up 500bf of cherry but the majority of it is 12'-14' long. I would like to store most of it vertically but I only have 9' ceilings in the garage. I can keep some of them long, but I don't want to have to pick through the stack and I really could use the wall space back. What recommendations do you all have? I'm hesitant to end up with a bunch of lumber that is just a little too short. Is there an optimal length?

Michael Moscicki
03-07-2015, 7:44 PM
I'm not an expert by any means, but do you have any project(s) in mind for the cherry?

Essentially figure out what you want to build and see what the dimensions call for. If you're making say a dining room table then some long pieces for the top would be essential.

How long are the beds on your jointer? What length board do you feel comfortable jointing?

Dave Zellers
03-07-2015, 8:06 PM
If your ceiling is 9 feet, then the optimal length is 9 feet.

No?

But mark them if you can so you would be able to match up a cut board down the road.

Silas Smith
03-07-2015, 8:11 PM
I don't have a project in mind, but I got to pick through a 10,000bf order I was helping a friend with and he let me pick out the best 500 for $1.40bf. I couldn't pass on that deal. I do have a table I have been thinking about, but 500bf will last me a long time. I also got 4 sheets of 3/4 cherry ply, any suggestions?

Bill McNiel
03-07-2015, 8:15 PM
500 BF for $1.40 BF? My suggestion - buy a Lottery Ticket, you are definitely on a roll.

Jim Becker
03-07-2015, 8:20 PM
I think you have to make that decision by the board...cross cut each one where it makes sense to do so based on grain, color, defects, etc. Set a minimum and maxium size (just under 9' is effectively your maximum for vertical storage) and go from there. You really cannot "standardize" on one board length because it would, in many cases, compromise the quality of your expensive lumber.