PDA

View Full Version : New LN Trepidation!

Derek Arita
03-07-2015, 1:19 PM
I'm new to planes, but have always admired the beauty of a well maintained, antique plane. I got some WoodRivers and have been enjoying learning how to set those up, along with some antique planes that i've acquired along the way.
Well, just recently I received my first Lie Nielsen. Don't know why, but I could't even open the box right away. That was 2 days ago. This morning, I finally opened it up and unpacked my bronze #4. I could' believe my reaction when I held it in my hands...my heart started racing and all I could do was stare at it. It looks more like an award, than a tool to be used.
I almost feel like just honing up the blade, then putting it away in a trophy cabinet. Maybe I should Keep it there for a few years, while I learn on the WRs and the antiques...Would that be weird or weirder than anything else I've just written?

Brian Holcombe
03-07-2015, 1:25 PM
Put it to use, it works even better as a plane !

Joe Bailey
03-07-2015, 1:33 PM
I almost feel like just honing up the blade, then putting it away in a trophy cabinet ...Would that be weird or weirder than anything else I've just written?

To me the only weird part is honing it, but not using it. If you're going to put it up in a cabinet, then why hone?

Jim Koepke
03-07-2015, 2:49 PM
Joe's right, honing the blade will only destroy its collector value, which incidentally is currently about the same as its value as its used tool value.

jtk

Christopher Charles
03-07-2015, 2:54 PM
Mine came used with a repaired tote so was easier to just start using. Got ahead a put a few scratches on it and you'll feel better :)

c

Sean Hughto
03-07-2015, 2:55 PM
As general rules of thumb, I try not to:
- buy cars that are too precious to drive
- buy clothes that are too precious to wear
- date a woman that's .....

;)

David Ragan
03-07-2015, 2:55 PM
What is effect of T LN signing planes w engraver-w photo of him doing it?

Jim Matthews