PDA

View Full Version : Is it worth getting a Hammer over a Sawstop?

Daniel McPherson
03-07-2015, 8:58 AM
I am just getting into woodworking and am setting up my shop. I don't like buying tools 2X and prefer to get the highest quality tools first. It was recommended I get a small slider because my shop is 25X25 and I already have a Festool track saw to break down large panels. I would prefer a hammer sliding TS but the sawstop is a lot cheaper. (I am looking at the industrial model fully outfitted for approx $4900) I am wondering if the extra money to step up to a Hammer or low end Felder is worth it.

Nick Stokes
03-07-2015, 9:53 AM
If you prefer the Hammer, then you would always wish you had of gotten it...

Peter Quinn
03-07-2015, 10:05 AM
It will make your cross cutting life easier, and a lot of wood working is cutting things to length. Saw stop also has a fairly effective cross cutting slider add on, that while not a format type sliding carriage may be worth a look if cost is a consideration.

David Kumm
03-07-2015, 10:35 AM
Look at used too. The Laguna short stroke comes up periodically, as does Minimax, SCMI, and Felder. They aren't priced very high used so are a good bargain. My favorite short stroke sliders are old iron but I'm guessing you don't want to go there. A short slider is so versatile I have several and all get used. You won't regret going that route. Dave

Jamie Buxton
03-07-2015, 10:36 AM
I'd get the Sawstop, and build a cut-off sled for it. The cut-off sled may cost you $20 of materials. A sled as big as the table on the Sawstop can handle almost anything a small slider can do. You'd get the safety of the Sawstop, and save some money too.

Steve Rozmiarek
03-07-2015, 10:37 AM