PDA

View Full Version : Advice needed for closing hole in wall

Raymond Fries
03-01-2015, 4:11 PM
I have zero knowledge of house construction so I am asking for advice so I do this right.

When our greenhouse was built, there was a PTAC unit installed in this opening:

Last summer we had a mini split installed in the room and I want to remove this unit at the end of this month. I plan on cutting a piece of OSB the size of the opening and attaching blocks to it. Then, when I push it into place, I can nail the blocks to the existing opening. Does this sound OK? I can buy a roll of insulation to pack the opening.

Do I have to cover the outside with house wrap? Will a piece of visqueen work? How do I seal this from the weather? I hate to buy a roll of house wrap for this 2' x 4' hole. I have the siding and a piece of the sheathing they covered the inside with so I can make it look like it was never there.

Thanks for your help.

Take Care...

Sam Murdoch
03-01-2015, 4:31 PM
I suggest that it would be easier to add the blocking to the frame work 1st then simply screw your patch piece to the blocking.
If you had a piece of house wrap or felt (tar paper) it would make you feel better but would not add much to the integrity of the building. Visqueen - no.

Ideally any layer of wrap should be overlapped by what is existing by 3" or more at the top and 2 sides but your new piece would overlap the existing at the bottom. It's likely that you can't do that without stripping off more siding. If you can slip the new piece of wrap under the existing and you have a piece - why not? But otherwise I would not think much about leaving it off.

Overlay the existing wrap seams and the seam of the new panel with wrap tape or Vycor (expensive too if you don't have any) or some other peel and stick exterior tape. In this case tape the bottom first, then the sides, lastly the top seam. Then apply your siding.

I think that covers it :).

scott vroom
03-01-2015, 4:49 PM