PDA

View Full Version : Working a rotating shift

Jerry Bruette
02-20-2015, 10:43 AM
Does anyone here work what's referred to as a DuPont 12 hour rotating shift?

I used t work a rotating shift that was 7 on 2 off, 7 on 2 off, 7 on 3 off. And the shifts were 8 hours each.

I have an opportunity for a very substantial pay raise but it involves the 12 hour rotating shift and I have no experience with it.

Looking for opinions, how's it affect your home life, stuff like that.

Steve Peterson
02-20-2015, 12:04 PM
What are the details of the 12 hour rotating shift? 12 hour shifts with 3 on, 4 off, 4 on, 3 off? That sounds pretty decent if it is day shift. Graveyard shifts are difficult if you have a family.

Steve

Matt Marsh
02-20-2015, 12:35 PM
Jerry, I've worked them all. No rotating shift is easy, but some are better than others. The 8 hour rotation is usually referred to as "Southern Swing", and it is the hardest of them all. I worked another modified schedule that I liked best, which was a combination of both 8 hour and 12 hour shifts. While working that shift, we did a 12 month trial of the 12 hour rotation that you describe. At the end of that trial period, the workers voted to go back to the modified schedule. I don't like working all 12 hour shifts, because on the days worked, that is all you will have time for. Maintenance tasks get piled up for the days off, and it's a real drag trying to be involved with family and friends on those days. I liked the modified rotation. You only worked two weekends a month, and Saturdays and Sundays worked were always 12 hour shifts. Any shift worked on a week day was 8 hours. 3pm to 11pm shift was always Monday through Friday, so if you took those 5 days as a vacation, you actually had 13 days off in a row, and only had to use 5 days of vacation.

Jerry Bruette
02-20-2015, 12:40 PM