PDA

View Full Version : Shop electrical outlets?

Steve Mathews
02-18-2015, 9:52 PM
I'm just beginning to organize my woodworking area in a section of my barn/outbuilding and have a few questions about electrical outlets. Some of my machines operate off of 220v single phase. I was thinking of placing both 110v and 220v outlets in the area. Is it possible or recommended to place a couple of 110v and one 220v outlet in one double gang box? Separate circuits would be used. What spacing is recommended between the outlets?

Wade Lippman
02-18-2015, 10:25 PM
Depends on what you are talking about. There is no reason you can't put 120 and 240 ( but not 110 and 220, which don't exist) in a double gang box, but the spacing is pretty much fixed. Are you talking about the distance between boxes? Put them where ever you will need electricity. Just make sure you have enough circuits. Lay your workshop out before you start doing the electrical.

Ken Fitzgerald
02-18-2015, 10:39 PM
Steve,

I don't know if code allows 120 and 240 in the same box. I just don't know.

When I built my shop, I placed all my wall outlets about 50" above the finished floor. I can stand a sheet of plywood up against the wall and still have access to the outlets.

I placed 120v outlets about every 4' along each wall. I have 2 circuits going down each wall and every other outlet is on the other circuit. In other words no two adjoining outlets are on the same circuit but there are only two circuits feeding that long wall and 1/2 of the connecting short wall. A total of 4 separate 120v circuit breakers handle all the wall outlets. A 5th circuit breaker handles a series of ceiling 120v outlets.

My lighting is on 2 different circuits and controlled by 4 different switches. Thus I don't have to have all the lights on but if I do and a lighting breaker was to trip, I won't lose all the lighting.

Mike Henderson
02-18-2015, 10:40 PM