PDA

View Full Version : New Member

Doug Jones from Oregon
07-28-2005, 11:33 PM
Hi all. Just wanted to quickly introduce myself and tell you a little about my shop and experience.

I have been involved in woodworking for about 30 years, starting in a small 8X10 storage shed in No. California and growing to what I am today. I currently occupy a 5000 sq. ft. building in the Portland, Oregon area.

I guess I am now pro since I make my living off what once was a hobby. Must be pro, don't seem to have much time for the fun projects anymore.

My business is primarily making frames for a niche industry of ceramic tiles.

Quickly, my equipment is made up of a couple of Delta cabinet saws, a small 2-head molder, a Delta Planer, Shop Fox wide belt sander, edge sander, Dbl Mitre saw, Underpinner, Overhead pin router, a dozen or so PC routers, drill presses, and more different sanders than I care to think of. I spray lots of lacquer in a spray booth everyday.

I market my business primarily through the internet with 3 national distributors doing their part.

I look forward to communicating with other woodworkers and hope to get some time to play with some more challanging projects. I'm particularly interested in mission style furnishings.

Dream equipment...a cnc router, a 5 head molder, and get this....a cnc plasma cutter....love to mix medias!

My funny story for the day....I flunked jr. high woodshop!

Doug

Ken Fitzgerald
07-28-2005, 11:39 PM
Welcome to the Creek Doug! From beginners to pros there all here willing to exchange ideas and share opinions. Wade right in....the water's fine! By the way......did I mention we have a couple of photo cops and there's only one real basic rule.....no photo....IT didn't happen. :rolleyes: A GLoat without a photo ....No gloat..... :rolleyes: Did I mention we like photos? :confused: :rolleyes: :D ......Again...Welcome!

Corey Hallagan
07-28-2005, 11:39 PM